So you all know that May was a busy month. I spent the latter part of it planning Gabe’s 7th birthday. He told me that he wanted a Super Mario Brothers party. I really should have checked to see if there was SM “stuff” available before I said that he could have a SM party.  Turns out, it’s not the 90s anymore and no one carries SM paraphernalia.

I had to really put my thinking cap on here and try to figure out how to get an SM (no, not that kind of SM, get your head out of the gutter) party together without said “stuff.” I decided to do a lot of red, green, black, and mustache. I did find some SM stickers, so we had the kids put those on the red and green table cloths. I bought red, green, and black streamers. I bought a few of those little question mark boxes that contained candy at the party store. They were like $3 a piece so I opened them and doled out the candy in the favor bags and then put the boxes on the table as decoration. Or for three boys to randomly pocket. Me casa es su casa, right? Help yourself.

What else, oh, I cut out some mustaches and put those on the favor bags and then I made chocolate mustaches. I don’t think I have any pictures of those. But I spent about a week melting chocolate and pouring it into a four-mustache mold until I had about 40 or so of them. (Did I say in my last post that he wanted to take those to school as a treat for his birthday on the 24th? I’m too lazy to look back and check.) I was up to my neck in mustache. Weird.

I did buy one Mario balloon online along with SM plates and napkins. It shipped in like three days so I thought had time to get more than one balloon since none of the balloon places carry these rare items. When it hadn’t arrived (along with a Mario t-shirt) a week later, I called to find out it wasn’t going to arrive for another week so I canceled the order. The day of the party I went to Party City to get the precious balloon blown up along with some others in green, red, black, and one gold star. On a whim, I bought 16 stick-on mustaches for the kids. For some reason the mustache thing was really resonating with me. And my sister came to the rescue with a Mario shirt my niece transported to me that morning. Go family!

Anyway, so the girl blows up eight balloons and carefully and painstakingly ties them all on ribbons and clips the ribbons all together and ties them to a weight. I pay her and get to the car and put the balloons in the trunk and get in. I look back and I think to myself, “Where is that Mario balloon? I don’t see it.” So I get out of the car and open the trunk and take the balloons out and there is no Mario balloon. So I look up. Oh. There it is, waaaaaay up in the sky. Great! One farging Mario balloon and it has floated away. So I go back in and the girl says sorry and gives me another star balloon.

I go home and we start to decorate with the help of Jay’s dad and Susan. When it’s all done, it looks pretty good. Maybe more like a Rastafarian mustache party than a Mario party but hey, the kids had a great time anyway.

We blew up, drew faces on, and added feet to about 30 balloons for a Goomba stomp that was over in about three seconds. We did a hard-boiled Yoshi egg spoon carry that lasted about two minutes, and then we had the kids chisel coins out of blocks of ice using spoons (that all broke immediately and had to be taken away for fear of their shiv-like power) and toothbrushes. Things seemed to be going well for about five minutes until the boys started smashing them against the bricks and the deck to get the coins out.

So now I think I’ll have to adjust to the mothering of a seven year old. He’s not so gullible anymore he’d just sit and scrape at a block of ice for hours like he would have maybe two years ago. Maybe we ditch the games next birthday party and give them all plastic spoon shivs and an MMA arena. He (or she) who lives gets all the chocolate mustaches!

A new lego ship!

A new lego ship!

Mustache.

Mustache.

Rastafarian decoration.

Rastafarian decoration.

Awesome cake courtesy of the fabulous Gigam.

Awesome cake courtesy of the fabulous Gigam.

Goomba pop.

Goomba pop.

Yoshi egg race.

Yoshi egg race.

Coin chiseling.

Coin chiseling.

Cake!

Cake!

More cake!

More cake!

And of course, presents. What a lucky kid.

And of course, presents. What a lucky kid.

