I have been writing this blog in my head for weeks. Well, more like, I have been thinking about this blog for weeks, but just haven’t found the time to sit down and write it. I swear it we were just sled riding a minute ago and now it’s the 20th of May and we’ve been so busy with dance, baseball, end-of-the-school-year activities, planning Gabe’s birthday, and getting ready for the summer that I didn’t even have time to stop and think a second about any of it.

I remember writing this post about Gabe’s last day of preschool/birthday festivities. Back then I thought, thank God I don’t have to do this again for another two years. And…*poof* here we are. I am not even sure where to start this post since it’s been a while since I last blogged, so I guess I’ll just summarize from where I left off after my 36 birthday.

I’ll spare you the details of the stupid, huge debacle of trying to figure out which baseball team Gabe was going to be on and skip to the part where he is on his first coach-pitch team this year. The coach is tough (Gabe says mean). You run a lap for playing in the dirt, you run a lap for swinging at a way-too-high pitch. You earn your place in the batting order and you pay attention to the game. Jay and I think it’s great. The Falcons are undefeated. Gabe is hitting the ball and fielding better and seems to be enjoying himself (if the two to three days a week of practice/games do seem to wear on him (okay and me), especially when we’re running from school to home to practice/games in the evenings. But I tell him (and myself) that a couple months ago we were looking out at the never-ending winter wishing we could be outside playing every evening and here it is and we shouldn’t look a gift horse in the mouth or something.

Plus, we only have three more weeks of baseball since we will miss the last week because we’ll be on vacation (boo hoo right?).

But really I guess the thing is that it’s not just baseball we have going on. Julia has been finishing up her second year of dance so we’ve had a lot of lessons on Monday nights, dress rehearsals to get ready for (well there was really only one of those, or two if you’re me and get the date wrong the first time), and end-of-preschool activities. Oh and there’s the matter of planning Gabe’s birthday, field days, Memorial Weekend cookout and Reds game, other friends’ children’s birthdays, Spinning classes, this photo-of-the-day thing (good timing on that one E), an occasional photo shoot, and this blog (well something had to give).

I find that I’m not as sad (today at this moment anyway) about Julia’s last day of preschool as I was about Gabe’s. Maybe because I go through everything with him first it softens the blow or maybe because Julia’s always seemed more grown-up to me all along so I was prepared for her being done with preschool a long time ago? The thought that makes me catch my breath is more of her going to kindergarten. The thought of putting them both on the bus in the morning, knowing I won’t see them all day, every day, instead of having the longer mornings with them when I take them to school on Mondays and Wednesdays, or sometimes picking her up from preschool and taking her to the sitter’s before going back to work. Or spending one-on-one time with her on Fridays after school, walking to the bus with her at the end of the week to get Gabe.

I sometimes feel guilty that most of our time together lately seems to be spent going to the grocery and running errands rather than quality play. But she never complains, especially when she gets to push Bear around in a little grocery cart or eat all the samples or talk me into another toothbrush or headband. She’s been my little sidekick for the better part of five years now. I’m sure she’ll still want to run errands with me on the weekends but for how much longer? Will she always be my willing little buddy? Sometimes when she goes to bed I ask her, “Who is my most favorite girl?” and she says, “Me!” and then one day about a year ago she  started to ask me back, “And who is my best girl?” and I say, “Me?” and she says, “Yep!” we do kiss/hug/kiss/hug/kiss/hug/kiss/hug and she asks me if the nightlight is on and whether the fish has been fed even if I just told her the nightlight was on and the fish had been fed and I shut the door.

I am hopeful that she and I (and Gabe and I too of course) will remain close throughout our lives even though I know we’ll have our ups and downs. I wouldn’t say that I’m particularly close to my own mom but I’d like that to change in my relationship with my children.

That said, I know that lately I’ve been sharing my photos more than bloggging (because the majority of my free time has been spend taking pictures and it’s easier) and not as much time writing (what a pain to put it all on the blog, then up on Facebook, then also on my Facebook page, etc.). But this time of year can’t really pass without some kind of retrospective so I felt I owed someone or something (me? the kids? you? the ether?) that. So you’re welcome.

And now for pictures!

Julia's rehearsal.

Julia’s rehearsal.

Getting her ballet shoes on without getting her toes wet.

Getting her ballet shoes on without getting her toes wet.

The Indignant Ballerina.

The Indignant Ballerina.

Fine we'll take pictures together.

Fine we’ll take pictures together.

julia and gabe

The recital!

The recital!

julia dance4

julia dance3

Getting ready to walk down the aisle.

Getting ready to walk down the aisle.

Getting diploma or as Julia called it her, "wad of paper."

Getting diploma or as Julia called it her, “wad of paper.”

Dancing her way out of the ceremony.

Dancing her way out of the ceremony.

The fam.

The fam.

