I had such a good time turning 29+7 that I didn’t even have time to be sad about it. Unlike last year, when making the turn into the late thirties was quite the bummer for me, 29+7 wasn’t too bad. Maybe turning  29+6 was like ripping off a band aid. Once you did it, the rest of the decade wouldn’t be as awful? Things to ponder.

However, now as I think “Oh, here is a good place to put a picture,” I realized there are not really any pictures of me celebrating my birthday except for one on my camera. Boo. I mean, not one! I didn’t want a cake so that’s all on me, but the kids wanted me to have a cake. It’s now the 10th…too late to have a cake? Maybe we can Easy Bake Oven one tonight.

(As an aside, I have to turn in a picture of me and Julia for a preschool project. You know how far back I had to look to find one? July of 2012. That’s the sucky part of being the family photographer. I tell Jay, “I hope when I die you tell the kids they had a mother because I’m not in any pictures.” Maybe he can hire one of those criminal sketch artists and have me drawn from memory.)

Actually here is a photo Jay took last night. Julia made me a pink Barbie cake in her oven. It was actually tasty. Not the best angles maybe but anyway…beggars can’t be choosers and all that.

You can see the tiny cake behind Gabe's left shoulder.

You can see the tiny cake behind Gabe’s left shoulder.

Here are three pieces of the cake. Gabe took these for me.

Here are three pieces of the cake. Gabe took these for me.

We did enjoy the better part of a warm (finally!) Saturday afternoon/evening day drinking with some friends at 50 West, this new brew pub . It was great, good food and $5 beer flights before 6 p.m. I had one of those, then I don’t know how many pints after that. Let’s just say I wasn’t without a beer in front of me from 4 p.m. till 11:30 p.m. That hasn’t happened in a long, long time. I was doing good till we went across the street and I tried some Limearitas. Tasty going down but…maybe not so good for me otherwise.

The kids spent the night at Grandma’s house (thanks Kitty!) so I had a few hours to recover in the morning anyway.

The actual day of my birth I took the day off work, met Steph for some Gap outlet time down in Hebron, went to the eye doctor, and then met up with Larry at the Madison Diner for lunch. Then I went to the gym and picked the kids up and spent the evening with the fam. All-in-all not a bad 29 + 7th birthday.

Thanks to all who made it a great one.

Now this week has been spent trying to organize the spring…we have baseball and the dance recital, field days and preschool graduation, and Gabe’s birthday to conquer. Not to mention cheerleading sign ups! Can you believe my little girl wants to be a cheerleader in the fall? We have a lot in common but that is where we part ways. Good thing she has enough team spirit for both of us. That girl has spirit coming out her ears.

She will be darling in a little cheerleading outfit though! I can’t wait to take those pictures.

As always, spread the word if you know of anyone looking for a rockin’ photographer. I have an engagement session this coming Sunday–watch my Facebook page for the preview.

Peace!

