I was thinking I haven’t really posted anything in a while, and I really haven’t posted anything food-related in a while. Jim was coming to town for his birthday and I was looking on Pinterest for something to make, dessert-wise. I found a recipe for some Boston-cream pie cupcakes but they involved not only making the cupcake, the filling, and the icing, but cutting the top off of each cupcake after baking, and filling the cupcakes, then replacing the top of the cupcake and then icing. Considering we had basketball, dance,  and the school carnival to attend, plus dinner to make that day, I decided to nix that idea.

I’m so glad I did because then I never would have found the recipe for THIS SNICKERDOODLE CAKE with THIS CREAM CHEESE FROSTING. All I can say is wow. In the words of Jay, it was quite the mouth party. I will be making this again. And again. And again. It would also be good as a cupcake or maybe you could even sneak it in for breakfast as a muffin. To me, the winning cinnamon-sugar combination comes in second only to peanut butter and chocolate.

I am not sure the pictures really do it justice. Julia really wanted to help make it and that really impedes photo taking. Also, everyone was in such a rush to eat it I didn’t get to take too much of the finished product. Excuses, excuses…but you’ll understand when you make and eat this entire cake in one sitting because you’ll be physically incapable of putting your fork down.

Here's the dry ingredients. Not very exciting. The wet ingredients photo was even less exciting. But I didn't want to jump right into cake bed with you without a little flour foreplay.

Here are the dry ingredients. Not very exciting. The wet ingredients photo was even less exciting. But I didn’t want to jump right into cake bed with you without a little flour foreplay.

First cake layer. I only have one 9' circular pan so I had to do one at a time.

First cake layer. I only have one 9′ circular pan so I had to do one at a time.

I made the cakes on Friday night and iced them between basketball and dance on Saturday morning. Finally, a chance to use my new cake plate for something other than holding candles. What? Don't ask.

I made the cakes on Friday night and iced them between basketball and dance on Saturday morning. Finally, a chance to use my new cake plate for something other than holding candles. What? Don’t ask.

Here is the cake iced. For the cream cheese icing the directions said something like, "add cream cheese to taste" but my tastes said to add the entire brick.

Here is the cake iced. For the cream cheese icing the directions said something like, “add cream cheese to taste” but my tastes said to add the entire brick. Oh! And I almost forgot my new little trick I picked up somewhere–use a few pieces of parchment paper under the cake while you’re icing. When you remove them it looks like you are a professional cake decorator who doesn’t slop icing all over the plate.

I thought the white cake looked kinda boring and didn't even hint to what was inside. I happened to have a cinnamon-sugar mill (like a pepper mill only containing--you guessed it). I think that it worked quite nicely on top.

I thought the white cake looked kinda boring and didn’t even really hint as to what was inside. I happened to have a cinnamon-sugar mill (like a pepper mill, only containing–you guessed it). I think that it worked quite nicely on top.

I have roughly six thousand birthday candles somewhere in the house but all we could find was a "6" and a "7" even though he only turned 62. Sorry!

I have roughly six thousand birthday candles somewhere in the house but all we could find was a “6” and a “7” even though he only turned 62. Love Gabe’s face in this picture.

And finally, the inside of the cake. It was dense and creamy and cinnamon-sugar all up in your mouth mixed with the cream cheese. I think I need a cigarette.

And finally, the inside of the cake. It was dense and creamy and cinnamon-sugar all up in your mouth mixed with the cream cheese…I think I need a cigarette.

 

UPDATE! This past weekend I made this recipe but made cupcakes instead. They were really good but I would say that the cake was better. Also I halved the icing recipe for the cupcakes and it was plenty to cover all 24 of them.

