My apologies to one-legged men in ass-kicking contests, but I’ve felt busier than you the past couple of months! There have been so many things going on I just haven’t had time to stop and talk about even one of them. I think since the last time I blogged we had a Halloween, a trip to Virginia/Maryland, Thanksgiving,  an 80th birthday party for my parents, a Christmas party at our house, and quite a few photo shoots. It was one thing after another and I wasn’t sure what would even take precedence in the blogosphere.

One of my favorite poets is Robert Frost. I haven’t read poetry in ages but in “The Road Not Taken,” I often think of the line, “how way leads on to way.” Isn’t that the truth? I mean, take this blog for instance. I started it almost three years ago thinking I would just write about the food we made in our little dinner dates with friends. Then I decided that that was too narrow a topic and I wanted to discuss  other things than just food. So I did. Anywhere from food to crafts to the kids to trips and dates and design, I have discussed it all in the 105 posts I’ve written so far.

But as way leads on to way, I’ve realized I’ve done and learned so much more in the past three years. Blogging has pushed me to do so many more things. If I was going to write about food, well, I had to learn how to cook different things. If I was going to write about crafts or decorating kids’ rooms, well, then I had to actually do it. If I wanted to up my blog readership, then I had to learn how to do that by creating a Facebook page.

And–this is the big one–if I was going to post pictures of the food and kids and family and crafts and decorating, well, shouldn’t I post decent photos? At first I thought this would be a matter easily settled by just getting a fancy new camera a couple of years ago. But it turns out that yes, the shutter was faster but no, the pictures were not much better. So that led to me having to actually LEARN how to use my camera. And once I learned how to use the camera, well, shouldn’t I just use it for more than pictures of food and other crap for the blog? Shouldn’t I put my skills to good use? So that kind of “launched” E. Lowry Photography (watermark and other more “official” shit to come…).

But then, I thought, if I was going to take pictures of friends, family, and hopefully eventually a slew of strangers, then shouldn’t they get back a quality product? So then I had to teach myself how to use a photo-editing software.  While “the business” has been slow going, I figure that’s okay because I’m learning to hone my skills in the meantime on some willing friends and family and not-so-willing children of my own.

And as way leads on to way, you’ll see that I have been busier than __________ but I’ve been learning so much on the way. I never want to just give up. I think one of my biggest fears is stopping. Stopping just anything. If I stop, will I ever start again? If I give up on parenting, or Spinning, or cooking, or writing, or photography, or being a good friend and partner, will I just whither away? I don’t know. I don’t want to find out. I’m not dead yet. And by God at this rate by the time I’m dead I’ll have more balls in the air than a Ringling clown convention.

So as promised, I give you desk number three.

This was the desk "before." I'm not sure what was on it. It had seen better days.

This was the desk “before.” I’m not sure what was on it. It had seen better days.

I don't really have any "during" pictures...Jay sanded it, and pulled off the original top. Julia and I put a few coats of white paint on it and I added some new knobs. All we need now is a glass top and to sand and paint the chair that came with it.

I don’t really have any “during” pictures…Jay sanded it, and pulled off the original top. Julia and I put a few coats of white paint on it and I added some new knobs. All we need now is a glass top and to sand and paint the chair that came with it.

desk after2

