I saw this scone recipe in the latest issue of Martha Stewart Living and just had to make them. Jay doesn’t really like breakfast baked goods, and the kids told me they wouldn’t eat them, but I felt compelled to make them anyway. I’m not sure what compels me to bake. I think sometimes it’s the fact that I have the ingredients on hand and so I know that it’ll be easy to whip them up without having to make a trip to the store. Other times I think it’s because I like learning a new technique. “Sconing” is something I haven’t really mastered (my blog, my made-up words).

Gabe was my helper this time, albeit reluctantly. I used honey crisp apples instead of granny smith, and I made my own buttermilk (just add one tbsp of vinegar or lemon juice to one cup of milk).  I also used steel-cut oats instead of quick oats because that’s what I had in my pantry.

I could have spent more time making sure the scones were of uniform thickness, but my hands were covered in flour and Gabe was begging me to turn on the Wii so I kind of hurried through that part. So some of the scones browned quicker than others, but they got in my belly just the same.

The only adjustment I’d make is adding one cup of buttermilk instead of 2/3. They could have used more moisture.

Ta da!

Before

After

Turns out someone else already posted this recipe so follow the link below and enjoy!

Apple and Oat Scones with Cinnamon and Nutmeg

 

