I am still getting caught up from my December hiatus. I am sure you could probably have used this recipe maybe a month or two ago for the holidays, but I say it’s sooooo good why wait till next Thanksgiving? You should make it right now. Drop everything and get to your nearest stove top.

I have to give original credit to my sister Val, who brought this updated take on the old, nasty string beans and fried onion thingy everyone always makes to Thanksgiving. It was so delicious I asked for the recipe so I could make it for Christmas Eve dinner at Jay’s mom’s house. I’m so glad I did.

This was hands-down the best roux I’ve continuously stirred together yet. I wish you could have been there to smell it cooking. You’ll be happy to know that I did avoid drooling directly into it.

And the cheese! After shredded it what I didn’t eat was stirred into the roux and the final product was so creamy and delicious, it was all I could do to not gobble it up after mixing it together with the two pounds of green beans and mushrooms.

I should note that I used frozen green beans in this recipe. I couldn’t find nice-looking ones at the grocery on the morning of the 23rd and I wasn’t going to drive all over town looking for some. Also I forgot to take a picture of the final product because…well, I forgot.

OMG

This was just perfect.

This mixture alone would have been just fine.

Imagine this, only baked, for the final photo.

