By popular demand, here is the recipe for my great grandmother’s brown bread. My mom used to make it in a coffee can but I don’t have one so I make it in a loaf pan. It’s so delicious and dare I say nutritious? It’s so good you’ll want to eat the whole loaf with a tub of cream cheese. Don’t forget it’s made with All Bran though–for your sake you might want to stop at just one slice.

Grandma’s Brown Bread

1 cup sour milk

1 cup All Bran cereal

2 tbsp Karo syrup or molasses

1/2 cup sugar

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 325

Before you start put 1 tablespoon vinegar in 1 cup of milk to sour the milk, then put this in the All Bran to soak while you are mixing the rest.

Mix everything else in order and then put it all in the bran with the milk. Do not mix too much. Put in #1 greased coffee can or any other can the same size.

Bake about 2 hours in coffee can or 45-50 min for loaf pans.

Always have my little helper.

Yum! Can you smell it?

