I’ve finally accepted that summer is over and it’s time to get out pumpkin-y things and buy the mums and go to the pumpkin farms and all that jazz. I also like to put the pumpkin-shaped cookie cutter to good use at least once a year.  Jay’s mom might make the absolute best walnut chocolate chip cookies but I think my sugar cookies are, quite frankly, the bomb. They are quite famous in certain circles, like within my immediate family.

I subscribe to the school of thought that if you’re going to do something, you might as well over do it. If I’m going to go through all the rolling and cutting and icing, I might as well double the recipe. Five dozen sugar cookies? You got it.

Man, can we plow through some cookies though. The kids had fun decorating them with some friends and they each took some home, and Jay and I ate a bunch. Then I was going to give some away or take some to work but then…I don’t know a little gnome came over and sneaked off with a couple of dozen.  That’s the only reasonable explanation I can come up with.

I wish you could all have some. The holidays are coming up though and I will definitely make some more in December. And I’ll mail each and every one of you a cookie.

I'm a little crazy.

Wow, that is a bright orange cookie.

Five dozen cookies...so much work, and gone so fast. But so worth it.

And now for the recipe:  Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies

