It’s been a while since I’ve written about something we’ve cooked. Last night we made jerk chicken. I have had this recipe from In Style since back in the day when they used to print recipes. It’s sooooooo good, I’d say this is the most-repeated item we make, and I don’t like to repeat much if I can help it. (Recipe follows.)

The new side we made tonight was black beans and rice from a vegetarian cookbook I got a long time ago. I never really look at it, but went through it the other night and found quite a few awesome recipes.

I also made some bruschetta with basil from the garden. Hopefully in another month or so I can make it with only ingredients from the garden.

Because I’m 100 I also made sure to take my generic Walmart Prilosec because I can’t drink and have garlic and not expect to be up all night with heartburn. So rest assured, I was protected.

Since we had so much food we invited the Alexanders on short notice. You’ll have to take my word for it that they came over. I didn’t take any pictures beyond the meat on the grill and the bruschetta I plated for picture purposes and also for my own consumption while I waited around for Jay to get back from Gabe’s soccer pizza party.

I know I should have taken more photos but I was sitting on the deck with a margarita watching the kids shoot one another with Nerf guns and I just didn’t want to get up. I didn’t really want to “work.” You know?

So here is the bruschetta:

Mmmmmmmm so good.

And the meat on the grill:

I wish you could smell this.

And the chicken in my belly:

https://i0.wp.com/s3.hubimg.com/u/2233526_f260.jpg

Make this chicken and get these abs.

Jerk Chicken Bites: 

(Serves 20)

2/3 cup olive oil

2 jalapenos, chopped (though I have used jarred jalapenos, and it works just fine)

1/2 cup minced scallions

6 tbsp white vinegar

3 tbsp fresh lime juice

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp minced garlic

2 tsp dried thyme

1 1/2 tsp ground allspice

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 tsp ground red pepper

3 1/2 lbs chicken (the recipe calls for thighs but I always use boneless, skinless) cut into skewer-size pieces

In a large bowl combine all ingredients. I usually put it all in a Ziplock bag because it’s easier. Marinade eight hours or overnight. Cook as you like, I assume well done.

Tomato Bruschetta: (This is my own recipe)

Tomatoes (Whatever kind you like. For this particular batch, I used three ripened-on-the-vine variety and two yellow.)

Garlic (A few cloves through the garlic press, to taste.)

Olive oil (Fo drizzle)

Salt and pepper

Basil

I diced all the tomatoes in the morning and added the garlic, salt, and olive oil, then put it in the fridge. A few hours later, I drained the water off of the mixture (the salt helps pull the water out of the tomatoes). Then I added the chopped basil and some pepper and mixed it all up.

I served it on a cut-up baguette drizzled with more olive oil and toasted in the oven. Top the bread with the bruschetta and some grated parm if you like–personally I think everything is better with cheese.

That’s my random Saturday afternoon update. Time to turn on the slip-n-slide for one antsy little boy.

