I realized I haven’t really blogged in a while.  I didn’t really think I had anything to talk about. But we have had a couple of fun weekends lately and I did make a few new dishes, so what the hell, here’s your update.

A couple of weeks ago we went to the lovely Muskingum River with the Freckers. We took the kids on the Bandwagon (see picture) we swam in the river and I broke my rule of not swimming anywhere that I couldn’t see my feet. I mean, who knows what is going to come up and munch my legs off when I’m not looking. But it was approximately 787 degrees and that cool water was just too hard to resist.

We brought along a meal to share for Saturday night. Last year I brought chicken enchiladas. This year I thought I should try something new so I ended up making chicken enchiladas. To first cook the chicken I used an old tried-and-true recipe and put two packages of breasts in the crock pot with salsa. Only I didn’t use salsa because I needed to save it for the enchiladas. So instead I used a can of tomatoes and a can of Rotel and some green chilies. Same difference.

When it was all said and done, about six Crock-Pot hours later, I had a—how-do-you-say—crapload of chicken. I made three dishes of enchiladas and still had chicken leftover. Feeling uninspired, I put the rest of the chicken in the freezer to deal with another day.

Baked Chicken Cheese Enchilada Recipe:

4oz cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup sour cream
2 cups prepared salsa
2 cups grated cheddar or monterey jack cheese
2 cups shredded cooked chicken

1 cup frozen corn kernels, thawed
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
salt and pepper
4 scallions, thinly sliced
12 to 14 soft round 6-to 8-inch flour or corn tortillas

Preheat oven 325 degrees F

In a medium bowl cream together the cream cheese and the sour cream. Stir in 1/2 cup of the salsa. Stir in 1 cup of the grated cheese. In a second bowl toss together the chicken, the corn, cumin, cayenne, salt, pepper, and 1/2 of the scallions. Add the chicken mixture to the cheese mixture and stir to combine.

In a baking dish spread a 1/2 cup of the salsa over the bottom. Place about a 1/3 cup of the filling on a corn tortilla, roll up and transfer to the baking dish with the seam side down. Repeat process for remaining tortillas. Pour remaining salsa over enchiladas, spreading to coat all of them. Sprinkle remaining grated cheese over the top. Enchiladas may be prepared up to this point 12 hours in advance. Transfer to preheated oven and bake for 20 to 25 minutes until hot and bubbly. Enchiladas may be reheated, covered with aluminum foil, before serving. Sprinkle with the remaining scallions and serve warm.

(I always double the recipe and make a ton at a time.)

A couple of weeks later, “another day” came around. I was going to make a Mexican sloppy joe, but was, as usual, missing a few ingredients. Instead I made a sort-of Mexican stew over rice. It was delish. Just ask Jay. You can’t ask my kids though because they won’t eat anything made with more than one ingredient (three if you count butter and parmesan).

Mexican Sort-of Stew:

Since the chicken was already cooked, I started by sautéing some garlic and onion with olive oil in a lovely Le Creuset braiser till the onions were translucent. Then I threw in a can of tomato sauce, red pepper, fresh cilantro (about half a bunch), cumin, salt and pepper and the chicken to simmer through and reheat. I made some Minute rice on the side. That was about it! Jay put the whole shebang on tortillas. I ate mine over rice—in a sort-of stew-like fashion.

I didn’t take pictures because, well, you know, I forgot. Again. Maybe when we cook the third pan of enchiladas I’ll remember to take a picture and update the blog. Maybe.

