I promised you an update on the rest of Jay’s birthday celebration, so here it is!

The kids were sick all weekend but we still managed to get out Saturday night. I had made a reservation at Paxton’s (and even called ahead to double check that afternoon, as the manager requested) but when we got there they had no idea what I was talking about. As the dude behind the bar said, “Dude, I don’t know, I’m just the night manager, you talked to someone else and she didn’t leave a note…sorry.”

We did what any other group of couples-who-finally-get-to-get-out-of-the-house-without-their-kids-and-by-God-we-are-going-to-sit-down-and-enjoy-ourselves would do. We took over the place and shoved together any tables that seemed like they might shove together in a manner that might accommodate as many people as possible. (It was roughly “L” shaped.) So we ate and we drank and we had a great time! I was hoping some crazy bar fight would break out or someone would get really drunk and try stand up comedy, but I have no such event to report.

However we did stay out past midnight!

In the morning I had to pull it together and teach while Jay had to pull it together and watch the kids. I’ll spare you the details but let’s just say he had a really good time Saturday night.

The rest of Sunday was pretty standard and boring: grocery, cleaning, playing with the kids. They both went to bed an hour early Sunday night because they were sick and crabby and so did/were we.

Jay made a really yummy dinner Sunday night though. It went something like this:

Orzo with Chicken, Corn, and Tomatoes (based on the recipe found here: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/orzo-with-chicken-corn-and-green-beans)

I thought we had orzo, but not enough so he cooked a box of rotini.

Jay also cut up an onion and cooked that in olive oil with four finely chopped cloves of garlic (there something about cooking garlic without an onion that just seems wrong somehow). We also didn’t have green beans so he added in a can of corn and a can of diced tomatoes, and a little salt and pepper. He shredded up a rotisserie chicken, served it over rotini and viola! Dinner.

I put some Parmesan on top too. Jay thought it needed more pepper, but I thought it was surprisingly tasty considering not a lot of spices were added.

And…I’m very excited to announce though that we have a new house project—we will be painting our bedroom and decorating! Finally! Jay is as overjoyed as you can imagine he might be. Stay tuned. I hope to post some before-and-after pics.

