Okay actually that’s a stretch but I was going to get on the treadmill tonight but felt obligated to update my four loyal followers tonight!

The gumbo turned out perfectly. Mmmmmm! And, in fact I really enjoyed the andouille sausage probably more than I would have liked it without. For chicken sausage it was very flavorful and spicy. We were all quite happy with the result. In fact, Mr. F got up to get seconds, “before his brain registered that he was full” and I followed suit.

I keep forgetting to take pictures as I cook but I do have a picture of the leftovers that we ate again for lunch yesterday (though you probably wouldn’t have known the difference, I wanted to be straight with you).

There IS rice in there–but as leftovers go, there wasn’t as much rice left as gumbo. Jay suggested putting the rice in the gumbo at the end next time, and I think I’ll try that.

After dinner, the boys parked their kiesters in front of the TV with some cocktails, and Mrs. F and I made chocolate souffles for dessert (despite the fact that this is 2010, not much has changed really, has it?).

I didn’t realize till I read the instructions earlier that afternoon that you had to make, bake, and serve the souffles immediately. I ran out of ramekins so we used one of the smaller Corningware dishes I had. We gave that serving to Jay, who didn’t even realize his portion was significantly larger than everyone else’s till he had finished it. (Pretend you’d been drinking all night, then imagine that that was pretty funny.)

************************

Today I made a spicy chicken chili. I basically threw together the following (warning, this chili is H-O-T):

Spicy Chicken Chili

– 1 pkg of boneless, skinless chicken breasts

– two cans of black beans (mung and all)

– one can of corn (drained)

– one large can of diced tomatoes

– one large can of tomato sauce (what is that, 18 oz?)

– four cilantro cubes (they are these frozen cubes I have, probably equal to four tablespoons though I would have used more if I had more)

– four frozen, crushed garlic cubes (more would have worked too, again maybe four tablespoons)

– one medium, diced yellow onion

– about a tablespoon of chili powder

– about a tablespoon of cumin

– two chipotles in adobo, diced, seeds and all

– additional adobo sauce, for funsies

Toss all of the above in a crock pot on low for 6 hours. Then shred the chicken. Eat with a good stack of napkins for wiping the sweat off your face.

Also, we Netflixed (that’s a verb now, right?) and watched 500 Days of Summer on Sunday night. LOVED it. And I saw New Moon with some work friends today. I cannot say I was upset that the men spent most of the movie shirtless. Oh, and the rest of the movie was good too.

That’s all folks.

E

